Bunn MyCafe MCU Single-Serve Coffee Maker

Standard

I’ve been a French Press enthusiast for a while now, but to tell you the truth, our local grocery stores have been carrying less & less whole bean coffee (which is the best to use with French Press).

My options?

  • Use pre-ground coffee (which will still work in a French press but can clog the screen, make it more difficult to press, or escape through the screen and end up in your cup)
  • make a trip to one of the grocery stores that offers whole bean coffee (not great for the convenience factor)
  • order online (which is great in theory, but when they only offer free shipping on orders over $50 and I’m the sole coffee drinker in the house…)
  • or take the plunge and add a single-cup brewer to the mix

Now, I did my research when thinking about getting a single-cup brewer. I knew all about the various options out there (and there are many now!) but I knew what I was looking for – flexibility.

This is why the Bunn MyCafe MCU is the perfect fit for me!

WHAT IT BREWS
Chances are, if you’ve been to a restaurant, you’ve seen a Bunn. They are popular commercial brewers (in fact, the restaurant I went to last night had one!) and now they’ve gotten into the single-cup game.

The Bunn MyCafe MCU lets you brew a variety of drinks, including:

  • K-cups
  • Soft pods, tea bags
  • Ground coffee
  • Loose tea
  • Hot water (for tea, hot chocolate, soup, oatmeal, etc.)

Bunn MyCafe MCU

COOL FEATURES
The Bunn is so flexible because it has 4 different brew drawers to fit different single-cup pods/cups as well as ground coffee/loose tea and hot water. This was the key feature that sold me on it!

bunn_drawers

Different drawers have different depths

 

I also love that the MyCafe has the Pulse Brew option for when you are brewing tea, or to extend the contact time for bolder coffee. Basically, it steeps your brew by pausing the brew cycle a few times for richer flavor. Love it, used it already on a soft pod coffee and yes, the flavor was rich and wonderful without being bitter.

PRICE
While it’s a bit pricey when compared to some other single-cup brewers, the fact that you are not tied to just one type of single-serve pod or cup makes it totally worth it. Add to that the fact that you can brew loose leaf tea and ground coffee, as well as have piping hot water at the ready for hot chocolate, oatmeal, tea, soup etc., the price is well worth it, in my opinion.

EASE OF USE: Basically, after the initial set-up (which just consists of doing 2-3 brews of water alone), the Bunn is ready to brew! It has an internal hot water tank that keeps it at-the-ready and the Pour-In Bowl has clearly marked ounces, making it easy to determine your ideal size cup of coffee.

BREWING NOTES
So far, I’ve used the K-cup and soft pod drawers and have had no trouble with them.

I tried the ground coffee drawer this morning and I didn’t really find it any more messy than using my French Press. I’m used to scooping out the grounds from my Bodum beaker and cleaning the screen, but I may still try to hack a coffee filter or find small ones to see if that would make a difference at all.

SIZE & MAKE
Since the MyCafe doesn’t have a storage reservoir for water. Each time you brew a cup, you need to add water, which isn’t a problem for me since I’m the only coffee drinker in the house and prefer to add fresh water anyway.

The internal water tank holds anywhere from 4 to 14 ounces, allowing you to adjust to suit your tastes.

For such a compact unit, it is very sturdy, with a removable drip tray that allows you to fill not just standard mug sizes but travel mugs as well.

bunn_shorttravel

K-Cup drawer with shorter travel mug (note that the Drip Tray is installed)

 

CUP SIZES

Because of its compact size, you may have trouble using travel mugs in the MyCafe. You can remove the drip tray to fit taller travel mugs and in fact, I did that this morning and my travel mug just fit under the ground coffee drawer (which is one of the deeper drawers).

My tallest travel mug is a 12-oz. travel mug, which measures 7-inches tall, so you may want to keep that in mind when purchasing. There’s always the option of brewing into a regular mug and pouring it into your travel mug afterward. No biggie.

Travel mug under the Ground Coffee drawer

Taller travel mug under the Ground Coffee drawer (note that I have removed the Drip Tray)

 

EDITED TO ADD: I went to use my red travel mug above with the K-cup drawer today but alas, it wouldn’t fit. No bother, I used a different mug, but just thought I’d let you know 🙂

WARRANTY
I’ve heard great things about Bunn and their Customer Service. The My Cafe comes with a two-year limited warranty, and warrants any replacement unit for two years, as well. Not bad!

FINAL THOUGHTS
I have nothing but good things to say about the Bunn MyCafe. It is easy to use, offers great variety and brews up a cup of coffee quickly.

If you want to make different drinks, be able to control how they are made, and great value for your dollar, the Bunn MyCafe is the perfect choice. You will not be disappointed.

MY RATING (out of 5)
PRICE: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 pricing varies (my local shop has it at $209 CAN which includes all 4 drawers)
EASE OF USE: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
CLEAN-UP: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 (clean-up of the ground coffee drawer knocked this one down a star but it is not much of a hassle in my opinion)

 BUNN – HOW IT WORKS

Here’s a quick video from Bunn showing the versatility of the MyCafe.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bunn MyCafe MCU Single-Serve Coffee Maker

Leave a Reply

